Marley & Me

31 Dec

Over Christmas Break my parents, brother and I went to see Marley & Me. Dave did not go because the Panthers were playing the Saints and therefore the world outside of football ceases to exist.
Anyway, I was really excited to see this movie because I love Jennifer Aniston and I love puppies so I figured it was win win. A few weeks ago in Barnes and Noble I was looking at the book Marley and Me that the movie is based off of. I got the gist that movie is about the worlds worst dog who brings a family together. I am not sure what I was expecting but it did not include and hour and a half of crying like a lunatic in the middle of the packed theatre.

Without giving too much of the plot away, basically the movie is about John and Jenny Grogan (real people) who get a puppy after they have been married a few years. Most people started crying at the end of the movie when the dog DIES. (Yes, I just gave away a spoiler but I think before anyone goes to see that movie that they should know that YES the dog dies. Don’t be an idiot like me and think ‘there’s no way the dog would die’ he does.) I, however, started crying non-stop the minute Owen Wilson sees his wife “dancing” with Marley through the window. This is something I do almost three times a day..from then on it was water-works city. So the movie goes on. The couple have kids, they buy a bigger house, they move to Pennsylvania, Marley gets old, he gets sick, then he dies. Then there is the worlds LONGEST death scene ever in a movie. First he “runs away”, then he gets sick and has to go to the vet, then he’s okay and they bring him home, then he can’t make it up the stairs so they sleep by the fire, then they decide to take him back to the vet, then there are five minutes of heart felt good-byes from these cutie pie kids, then Jennifer Aniston hugs the dog, then the vet says he needs to be put to sleep, then Owen Wilson says his goodbye, THEN the little boy watches home videos of Marley, then they have a funeral where each of the kids says something and then finally the movie ends. By this point I was having to take deep slow breaths to ensure that I wouldn’t start making loud embarrassing crying noises. Luckily my mom brought tissue. Then I had to run straight home and hug my doggie.

And yes, I am going to buy this movie.

Also, I think whoever did the casting for this movie was a little generous casting Owen Wilson.

Here is the real John Grogan…(with the real Marley!)….hm.

Leave a Reply

