When me and you became us..

21 Jul

Warning..I am feeling particularly sappy so chances are this post will be llllaaaaammmmeeee.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my husband lately. I was a junior in college when I met him. The first time I saw him I was in the light booth at Francis Marion. I was called in by my professor to be the Stage Manager for a show we were doing. I wasn’t even supposed to be there. He walked out on stage for his light check and I remember I was desperate to cast people in my Directing Scene. I immediately got on the headsets and ask all the backstage people who he was. For some reason he thought he looked just like a TKE I knew. I was confused why he was in a play since that guy was pretty much a slacker. I found out quickly that he was a new theatre major and a freshman. He also was already in two scenes so he couldn’t be in mine.
I remember that moment so clearly. It was not love or even lust at first sight. I had a boyfriend at the time so there were no feelings there. There is no one else in my life that I so clearly remember meeting for the first time. I remember every minute that past, everything I said. It was such a casual meeting so it was strange that it stuck with me so vividly.
Over the next two years he became one of my favorite people in the Theatre Department. We were all close because there were so few of us and we were constantly thrown together to work on shows and in classes. I started calling him David Sister not long after our friendship began. Most people know that once I give you a nickname that means I really love you. (Tyner, Shaz-Rod..you can attest to this). However, I fancied myself a “popular sorority girl” so I really never hung out with Dave much outside of school. He had a girlfriend and I had an obsession so a romance never entered my mind. In the Spring of 2003 a series of events began to happen. At the time it didn’t dawn on me and that David Sister and I were driving full force straight ahead towards Relationship Road. My grandmother died in February of that year. The boy I had been with off and on and off and on for over two years knew about her and how close we were. He didn’t even call me when she died. The day I got back to school after her funeral Dave came up to me and picked me up in a big bear hug and told me how sorry he was. A few months later he was at my sorority formal with his girlfriend. I was there with the same guy from before and I was having a miserable time. I went outside to sit on the bench because I was so fed up with him and the way my life was going and Dave came out. He asked me if I was alright and if I wanted to talk. I can’t remember what I said but I remember thinking that this guy in front of me always seemed to be there when I needed him. That night I went to the boyfriends house and we had the worlds largest argument. I was tired of being last in his life. He kept telling me to “turn the page” finally before I left I told him I was starting a “new damn book.” I haven’t seen him since. I didn’t know it at the time, I hadn’t even considered it but I was making way for Dave to come into my life.
Several months later I realized I couldn’t live without him.
I was a waitress at a restaurant over the summer and Dave and I actually were roommates. The girlfriend was gone by this point and we had both moved out of the house we shared for the summer earlier in the day. Generally I loved being a waitress. I’m a pretty pleasant person anyway but I loved how I could turn on the charm and earn more money if I wanted too. It’s kind of like being a hooker..haha! The computers were broken at work all day. We had to do everything manually so the kitchen was a nightmare, collecting money and turning it in at the end of the night was a pain and customers were upset and angry because of the slow kitchen and the confusion over a handwritten bill. I was so frustrated and tired by the end of the night. I got in my car and suddenly realized that I wasn’t going home to Dave anymore. I cried about that a lot and I am not really much of a crier. At the time he was my best friend and I realized I had totally fallen in love with him.
I married him a little more than three years later.
Our life hasn’t been perfect. We’ve been through a lot of rough stuff that has made our bond even stronger, we’ve had hard times and we’ve almost always never had any money. But no one has ever made me laugh like he has and no one has ever made me feel as safe as he has. I look at him sometimes and I can hardly see that 18 year old boy I met eight years ago or that twenty year old I fell in love with. His baby face has faded away and his scrawny arms and legs have gotten muscular. He’s still the same on the inside and that’s the part that matters to me. He will almost always think his jokes are funnier than anyone else and that he is smarter than most people he knows. But he’s the sweetest most sensitive man I have ever known.
I guess what I’ve been thinking a lot about lately is how I am sad that it’s the end of “Dave and Christen”. We both embrace this new challenge of parenting. We have been talking about it for almost a year. It’s time for a change in our lives and I think we both realized that the moment we began Facebook chatting with each other from different rooms in the house. I’ll never forget the look on his face when I told him I thought I was pregnant and the sound of the joy in his voice when we found out we were having a boy. However, I’ll miss us. I know deep down we’re creating a life not a loss and once Little Dave gets here all of this will be an afterthought. For now I am trying to enjoy the last three and a half months of Dave & Christen and make every second count.

Leave a Reply

