McFatty Monday..err..Tuesday

19 Jan

I have a 12 week old.  That makes doing anything on the correct day almost impossible.

Anyways, I am a little late in joining the bandwagon but I have decided to take part in McFatty Monday
Oy weight loss. Dieting. All words that I truly hate. You know what else I hate..sweat.  Unfortunately in order to return to the size I was pre-Dave (and pre-Holden) I have to do all of those things. Unless someone has come up with something I am unaware of.
I am a total sucker for the “miracle diets”. I’ve done them all. The Special K diet, low carb, the soup diet, 7 grams of fat diet. That one actually worked. I lost 50 pounds in two months. Then I ate a cheeseburger and it all came back. No lie. I’ve been obsessed with loosing weight since I started gaining it. Which ironically has made me gain more than I’ve lost. I’m not sure how that works.
On February 16th, 2009 I found out I was pregnant and I never looked back. I literally threw out everything that said low-fat, no fat, low trans fat, no trans fat in my pantry and ate my way through pregnancy. This includes a pregnant girl sized hissy fit I threw in the middle of Wal-Mart when I couldn’t find anything but low-fat Cinnamon Rolls. I want my icing full of calories thanks!
McDonald’s for lunch twice in one week? No problem! I’m pregnant! Milkshakes every night after dinner? The baby needs calcium!
Surprisingly I didn’t gain that much extra weight during pregnancy. At my six-week post partum check-up I was ten pounds heavier than I was 9 months earlier. Ten pounds is a hefty amount but the way I munched through every fast food restaurant in town I was surpised it was that low.
The problem is this. Even before Holden I was unhappy with the number on the scale. In college I took care of myself better than I do now. If I gained some weight I always figured out a way to take it off. (Getting so drunk I heaved the entire contents of my stomach at least once a week probably helped too). But, the time for binge drinking has come and gone and now there is a number on the scale that makes me cringe and less “me” time to do something about it.

The good news! (There is some!)  My mom got me a Wii Fit for Christmas and for the very first time in a LONG time I am actually motivated to change myself.  For years I have let myself go simply because I was already in a steady relationship with a man who thinks the world of me no matter what I look like.  So I let his bad eating habits become mine.  The problem with this is he is so skinny his thighs don’t even touch but if I wore panty hose the friction between my thighs could probably start a fire.  That’s the truth.  It’s not about him and what he thinks of me anymore..it’s really about me now.  Also, half the crap I shove into my mouth on a daily basis I would never let Holden eat.  (Once he gets teeth).  How big of hypocrite will I be when I have to say “Eat your broccoli Holden while Mommy shoves a Big Mac in her face.”

So there it is, pure and simple.  Hopefully this blog will hold me accountable for my weight-loss.  Thanks to my Wii Fit and giving up coke I’ve lost 8 pounds already.  And I’ve decided once I loose 15 pounds I can reward myself with a Cheesy Gordita Crunch from Taco Bell.  Yum
My goals for the week:

Cook at home every-night!  (No fast food!)

30 minutes of working out every day (Wii Fit or Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred)

Leave a Reply

