Keepin’ it Klassy.

9 Apr

Dave has a man room.  If you’ve been to my house you’ve seen it..it’s a man cave with books to the ceiling, a huge television, a computer and video games as far as the eye can see.  It’s my husband’s pride and joy..and usually it sends me into a claustrophobic fit whenever I walk in there.  Seriously..sometimes I’m in there and I feel like I can’t breathe.  But, being the wonderful wife that I am (ha), I pretty much let him keep it a cluttery mess unless we are having company come over.  Then I lock him in there with trash bags and a vacuum and won’t let him come out.  I’ve gotten my hands on the room several times and attempted to re-organize it but then my in-laws just send us home with another box of Dave’s crap from his childhood that he can’t seem to let go of.  (My personal feelings on pack-rattiness..if I haven’t used it in six months I don’t need it).

Last weekend at Dave’s parents house his dad made White Russians for everyone who can drink (not me..and not his little sister).  Yesterday I came home and found Vodka, Kahlua and Half and Half (seriously..these sound gross) in our fridge.  Looks like someones having a party.  While I was feeding Holden I heard Dave messing about in his man room.  I heard the closet open and close several times and several grunts and words I won’t repeat here. Honestly I didn’t think much of it..because well..Dave is Dave and sometimes when he gets mad at a video game he throws a tantrum.  My beautiful stainless steel trashcan was a victim of one of those tantrums.

After I put Holden to sleep I walked back to the man room to find Dave stretched out on his Lazy Boy sipping a White Russian in a sparking clean man room.  Once I picked my jaw up off the floor and placed it back in my mouth I asked him what inspired him to clean his man room without me begging, pleading or throwing things.  His response?

“A White Russian is a classy drink…and I needed a classy room to drink it in.”

Thank you gross diary alcoholic drink for cleaning my house.

Leave a Reply

