Sometimes I forget..

23 Apr

I started dating my husband when he was 19 years old.  Just a few weeks shy of twenty.  He’d barley lived on his own…he didn’t even have a bank account.  And even though he’s grown into one hell of a man’s man sometimes..and perhaps because we met young and then married a few short years later..a little part of him will always be that fresh faced 19 year old I fell in love with.

Here..I’ll tell you why.

There is a classy hotel right next to the Cracker Barrel (so..combined with my father’s love for the Cracker Barrel & Dave’s love for the Country Boy breakfast we eat there a lot..and when I was pregnant I couldn’t get enough pancakes so we ate there A LOT).  The hotel had a sign out front that said:

Working Women’s Wednesday

Wednesdays 5:30-7:30

Dave noted that sign a few times and on occasion said “I should go to that!”

Now, I understand if your husband expressed an interest in going to a cocktail hour when 50-year-old men trolled the bar for single 30-year-old career gals you might be concerned.  Me, not really..because I knew that Dave had some convoluted reason for wanting to go & I somehow guessed it involved free beer.  So I never asked any questions about it.

Until the last time we were there and again he said “I really should go to that one day!”  I finally asked him why on earth would he want to go to Working Women’s Wednesday.  His response…well..it wasn’t what I was expecting.

“It sounds like fun.  I mean why do only women get to go?  I work on Wednesdays and I like breakfast.”

My sweet, adorable loving husband thought that “Working Women’s Wednesday” was something akin to a hotel continental breakfast for women.

One Response to “Sometimes I forget..”

  1. Melissa April 23, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    So funny! Although, I don’t think my husband would ever tell me to eat a free breakfast without him! hah!

Leave a Reply

