The choice..

29 Jun

Dave and I sat down today and made a huge choice that is going to effect our family.

We have decided not to watch Big Brother this summer.  Insert gasp here.

Or don’t because most of you probably thought that show went off the air in 2004.  I have been a faithful Big Brother lover since 2003.  Dave picked up my addiction the first summer we were roommates and neither one of us has been able to give it up since.  Dave pretty much stopped watching television (except for sports) about two years ago but Big Brother (& LOST) was always a must watch.

We lived through Evil Dick (Dave loved him..I hated him), horrible “twists” (does anyone remember the stupid twins?),  that horrible awful unmemorable season when Maggie won and we had to spend the entire season listening to Yvette talk about “Cappy” and how the evil drill firefighter was such an upstanding guy, Dr. Will, The Four Horse Men (thank god Cowboy did NOT make it into the All-Star Season or I may have shot myself, the silly extra season they did when the writer’s were on strike and they paired people up in fake romances therefore making crazy Natalie think that she was actually going to marry Matt..and then the guy who actually won that season recently got arrested for drug trafficing..classy times.  And my all time favorite moment??  Well..Bye, Bye Bitches…

But I should have known last year would be the “last year” because after years and years of watching the most awful excuses for human beings win..finally..

This little lady won half a million dollars (she’s as smart as she looks..promise).  Sure..she probably rode coat tails to get to the final four but she won pretty much all by herself.  She made a smart decision to get rid of Kevin (your token gay guy) and kept the evil girl.

So my love affair with Big Brother has ended.  I am sad..but since I have to watch television online..and I can barely keep up with The Real Housewives of New Jersey..there is no way I can commit myself to three episodes a week and I’m also not sure if my heart can take it.

4 Responses to “The choice..”

  1. sarah July 1, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    dude.
    my gasp was followed by a fall off the dining room chair.
    i feel as though this is a dream and you will come to your senses soon.

    • christastic July 2, 2010 at 9:17 am #

      you may be right..because since posting this i’ve been watching a lot of my favorite moments on youtube and it’s make me nostalgic..i might have to read the recaps and watch the show when i can..who knows?

  2. sarah July 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    plus I heard there’s going to be a mystery guest this year… i’m hoping for evil dick.

  3. amanda March 6, 2011 at 5:02 am #

    Christen, I seem to becoming addicted to your articles. This is the third one I have read, but feel that maybe I shouldn´t leave and more comments just incase you think I am spamming, which of course I am not.
    Just going for a coffe break it is 10.55 in the morning here…and it is raining, but the sun in trying to come out.

Leave a Reply

