#3: “It’s improper to use the eggroll for political purposes”

6 Jul

I always try to come up with clever titles for my blog post..because honestly if the title is boring I probably won’t read your blog entry.  I’ve looked into getting help for this.  Anyway, sometimes the hunt for creative titles leads me to googling (my blog subject) quotes..so today’s google search was “Eggroll quotes”..and the title above..well that’s a Mark Twain quote folks.  And if it’s alright with Mark Twain it’s alright with me.

Today’s topic.  Eggrolls!

I have eaten egg rolls before.  I generally don’t like them.  I’m always a little scared of the “mystery meat” inside of them.  I usually opt for the (typically) vegetarian Spring Roll.

I have never made egg rolls.  In fact, until May, I never knew that you could make egg rolls if your last name had more than one syllable and you had never worked in a Chinese Restaurant.

Until I saw this recipe on Crystal’s blog.  I like to pretend like I know Crystal but I don’t.  If you’ve never read her blog before you should.  She has a cute little girl named Vegas.  Her daughter’s name alone probably gives one the impression that she could really care less what people think of her, and I believe it’s true.  I wish she was my real life friend because she could teach me to be tough..and possibly let me borrow some of her big sunglasses. 

Once I saw her recipe I thought..”I have got to make those!”.  It took me a few months to find the courage but about a week ago I finally did..only..because it’s just what I do..I had to change it up a little.  Here is my version..

1 can black beans drained

1 small can of corn

some cumin (i just shook it in there)

some chili powder (again just a shake, shake)

boiled chicken tenders (2) cut into small pieces

a tablespoon of salsa

shredded Monterrey jack cheese (i use a lot because i heart cheese!)

1 package of eggroll wrappers (which you can buy AT WAL-MART..I did not believe this..they truly do have everything)

Preheat oven to 425.  Mix all the ingredients in a bowl.  Put a spoonful of the mixture in the middle of the egg roll wrapper and fold according to directions on the package.  Place seem side down on tray and cook for 16 minutes.

I’ve made these twice and I really feel like I’ve started to perfect the egg roll mixture to egg roll wrapper ratio.  The first time I put too much in and most of my innards ended up on the cookie sheet (it was still good though).  Also, the first time I had a lot of trouble separating the egg roll wrappers.  They would stick together and I would end up using 6 wrappers for one egg roll.  It was obnoxious.  This time I bought a different brand and it worked much better.  I only used about half of the wrappers.  The first time I was out of sour cream and we both loved them but thought they were a little dry.  We had sour cream this time and they were muccchhh better!  If only I could get the whole egg roll wrap down I’d be happy.  If you figure that out let me know your secrets!

They are so delicious though.  They really taste like they came from a restaurant.  I am thinking of making them again soon but maybe changing up the stuff that goes inside.

I have pictures..but I’m lazy and can’t find my cord…in the mean time, vote!

Vote For Use @ Top Mommy Blogs

Leave a Reply

