Straight from my in-laws “rompus room”..

8 Aug

So..Dave is a pack rat.  I love him..but it’s the one thing I would change about him without any hesitation.  We have lived together seven years..and right before every move we have to go through heaps and heaps of junk his prized posessions and decide what to keep, what I can hide and throw away in a few months because he’ll never notice it’s gone and what I can reasonably talk him into getting rid of.  After seven years and four moves I can safely say that this move has been the easiest of all.  Perhaps he has finally gotten the idea that he does not need a Hawaiian Shirt with TIGERS on it.  (True story..we argued about this shirt for YEARS and he would never get rid of it.   He loves Hawaiian shirts so much that I had to make him a deal that on his 50th birthday he can wear a Hawaiian shirt every day until he keels over dead but he may NOT under any condition wear one until his 50th birthday.  He reluctantly agreed to this mostly because I let him keep his collection of old man caps and elbow patched blazers).

Anyway, I am here to say that he does get it from somewhere.  Being a pack-rat is not BAD persay..it’s just not my style.  I am of the philosophy that unless it has a clear sentimental value, if you haven’t used it or worn it in the last six months it’s time to let it go.  Neither theory is right or wrong..it’s just the way we are.  Recently I have been spending a lot of time in my in-laws spare bedroom..where all their bookcases are.  They have the most random, ridiculous and funny collection of books that I have ever seen and I thought I’d share a few of them with you..

  • Shoot Low Boys, They’re Riding Shetland Ponies….oh….ok?
  • Do It!!  Let’s Get Off Our Butts! This one confuses me..because how do you get off your butt & read at the same time?
  • The Complete Guide to Medical Plants in the United States..not such a strange book..for say an avid gardner or doctor or something.  However, my in-laws..are neither.
  • The PMS Outlaws..This looks like a normal fiction book..but really?  The PMS Outlaws?  Are they all bloaty & in the midst of a chocolate rage so they rob a bank or something.  I ALMOST want to read this one.
  • Speaking of Jesus..Ok..so this one is not so weird seeing as how my father-in-law is a minister..but the title makes me giggle.
  • Read this Book or I’ll Kill this Dog…Violent.  Apparently it’s a National Lampoons book so it “sort of” makes sense..but..uh.

And my favorite..

  • Raising Children with a Single Parent...again..not such an odd book.  But..my in-laws are married..and have been for over 25 years.
Leave a Reply

