It started like this…

8 Oct

Sometime in June of 2003 it started like this…

Our story is no different than most people’s.  We met in college, we fell in love, we moved in together, we got a cat, we got engaged, we got married, we bought a house, adopted a dog & had a baby.  However similar it may be it’s completely precious to me.

“This is easy as lovers go
So don’t complicate it by hesitating
And this is wonderful as loving goes
This is tailor made what’s the sense in waiting?

And I said “I’ve gotta be honest,
I’ve been waiting for you all my life.
For so long I thought I was asylum bound,
But just seeing you makes me think twice.”

We ended up here a few months later…apartment f.  I’ll never forget the layout of that apartment (I knew every nook), the smell of the kitchen, the mismatched furniture, the way we slept til one because we were in college and didn’t have any other responsibilities.  It was surreal to drive by it a few months ago.  I realize now that if I went back I’d be appalled by how run down it is & the tiny kitchen.  I’ll never go inside it again..only in my mind.

A few months later we ended up engaged……one year, four months and seven days later (much to my mothers dismay…she insisted we should elope at least twice a week) we got married on October 7th, 2006.

The second best day of my life.  My father-in-law married us and our reception was in an art gallery.  I still hear about how much people loved the cake.  My best friend became my husband that’s all that really mattered to me.

Last year, twenty days after our 3rd anniversary James Holden was born.  The best/hardest day of my life.  I only sort of remember it.  My best friend became a father and I became a mother and it changed my life.  Absolute perfection.

 

We aren’t perfect..I mean Holden is perfect..but Dave & I totally aren’t.  Happy four years kid.

Leave a Reply

