thankful..

25 Nov

I spent an entire week teaching my kids about thanksgiving and the history behind it.  On Tuesday afternoon they wrote down what they were thankful for. Most of them said the requisite “my family” “good health”.  I had a few sweet ones that said “my teacher”, “a wonderful school”…a few egocentric kid ones “my Xbox”, “my cheerleading uniform”, “my Wii” (giggle..calling it my Wii still makes me laugh)..but then there were a few..that just made me laugh..like..”Micheal Jackson” and “the penguins that came over on the mayflower”..oy..I hope I’ve taught them something this year.

This time last year I had a four week old son and I was mourning the loss of my pregnancy.  That’s what it felt like..a loss.  I’d had these wonderful nine months with this little person..all the sudden he was out and I had no idea how to function. This year I am thankful for my son who is my entire life.  I am thankful that for the first time in my entire life I am getting a paycheck from a job I adore and I can imagine doing it for the rest of my life.  I am thankful for my mom & my dad..it might sound cliche’ but I have no idea where I would be without their help.  My mom is just..ah-mazing.  I’ve said it here before.  Watching her fall in love with my son is just the weirdest/greatest thing I’ve ever been a part of.  She is without a doubt my role model.

Most of all I am thankful for the man who I have loved for seven years..and I am thankful that he still puts up with my crap (because I have a lot yo).  Even though my body has been a yo-yo for the past four years he still thinks I’m pretty & tells me all the time.  He puts Holden to sleep & wakes up with him during the night so I won’t have to.  If something breaks I can just take it to him with a sad look on my face and he fixes it…and if he doesn’t know how he figures it out.  I am thankful he craves chocolate more than I do.  It makes me feel better about eating it so much.  I am thankful that he has drive & determination to take care of his family.  I am thankful that when he talks about football, soccer & baseball he lets me pretend to listen.  I am thankful that when we are at parties and I shy away from new people he embraces them and has 34 new best friends by the time we leave.

I am thankful that he is not just my best friend & and my husband..but he is truly my family.

Leave a Reply

