31 Days of: Making A House A Home:: Day One

1 Oct

I moved in my house at the beginning of May and I have a secret.

This is my spare room.  I have no idea what’s in these boxes.

Also, since when do we own a guitar?  I usually just shut this door.

This is my garage.

Yeah, that’s a dresser that hasn’t quiet made it inside the house yet.  (It’s destined for that spare room..so yeah..there is no room for it).  Also, that weird tiny coat rack looking thing?  It’s a kids coat rack with pencils on it that I bought about five years ago to put in my classroom for rainy days.  It’s never seen the inside of a school building.  Why do I still have it?  Also, Holden’s swing.  We have a swing set and it’s about twenty feet from the spot where it’s sat since May to the backyard.  Why is it still sitting there?

Oh, here is the pile in my office/dining room.  That’s supposed to go to Goodwill.  Which is less than 2 miles away and I pass every day on the way to work.  But I haven’t made it there yet.

Why?  Because there is a pile of crap in the back of my Pilot and it’s been there for over a month and a half.  To be fair I did have emergency gallbladder surgery which prohibited me from lifting anything over ten pounds for 3 of those weeks..but still.  My reasoning for not bringing it in the house?  I don’t want to look at it.

I don’t even have a picture to show you of the pile of Holden’s baby stuff in my parent’s basement.  Or, the weight bench that is at my in-laws.  Clearly we have a problem.  We are half living in our house.  Which is why I am going to spend the next 31 days making our house into our home.  Our “stuff” is here and when we look around it kind of feels like home..but it still feels like this is only temporary and any day now we’ll be heading back to our old house.  It’s not that I have issues with leaving the old house.  I loved that house and I don’t think I’ll ever love this house that way–I mean it’s not comparable really..it was our first house–but I really like this house and we are much happier here..even though we are still surrounded by boxes.  And it’d be really awesome to start using all that extra square footage we were doing fist-pumps about six months ago.

There will hopefully be a few big projects including some paint in the office and bathroom and a total landscaping makeover and of course I’ll be sharing some little projects like cleaning out my car and getting my *@&# to Goodwill.  Hopefully by Halloween my house won’t look so scary.

3 Responses to “31 Days of: Making A House A Home:: Day One”

  1. ann @ my life as prose. October 1, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    friend, you are not alone!! so glad you’re doing this–we moved in august and are in a similar situation 🙂 and i’m working on making my rental a home and am going to blog about that for the #31 days 🙂 it will be great to share ideas 🙂

  2. Stefani October 2, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    Wonderful topic. I so wanted to do this one too. Maybe your unpacking of boxes and making your house a home will inspire me to do the same.

  3. Alana in Canada October 2, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Oh, I hope you will get your house in shape this month! It’s such a process. I’ll cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

