31 Days of: Making a House a Home:: Day Two

2 Oct

Woot, woot..I actually made it to day two?  What the crap is THAT about?

I’m proud.

Sometimes you have to take baby steps you know.  Like yesterday I kind of went nuts and did nothing but clean, scrub and organize all day long.  Today my feet hurt.  So I fancied up this tray I have and I’m all sort of excited by it.

It all started with this tray I saw on Pinterest.

It kind of made me feel all excited inside and I thought “hey..I could do that!”  I had this serving tray that Dave’s grandmother got us for our wedding.  I never really liked it.  Not because she bought it for us.  I mean I registered for it.  But I think I was a little registry gun happy in Target that day and just started clicking.  Seriously, I registered the randomist stuff.  Red cookwares, bamboo serving tray and paper towel holders and dark green dishes.  We didn’t own a house yet so I guess I was just thinking “who cares if it matches”.  Anyway, my point..I have never used the aforementioned serving tray and never really knew what to use it on.  When I saw this picture I knew I had gold and white spray paint and some painters tape so I thought I might give it a try.

And then it sat in my Pinterest Board and was forgotten like so many other awesome things.  Until Dave brought home this decator and glass set his boss gave to him.  It was the perfect thing to put on the tray.  So I got busy.

Then the gold part kind of freaked me out.  Since the bottom was already metallic silver I decided to throw caution to the wind and just do silver and spray paint the whole bad boy white.  I struggled with the design for a little bit.  I tried a Chevron pattern but then I decided I wanted this to last and when this Chevron phase is over I would probably hate it.  I took one episode of Yo Gabba Gabba to mess around with the tape and come up with a pattern and another episode to come up with this.

 

Are you not simply stunned by my creativity of diagonal lines.  I mean I should really be paid professionally for this stuff.  That’s a joke..obv.  I think it’s important to note that Holden was completely amazed by the Frog Tape and wore it as a bracelet for most of the day.  Sometimes I wish I could be as awesome as a almost two year old.

The I spray painted..and spray painted some more.  Then I ran out of spray paint.  Then I found another can.  Then I sealed it and about forty-five (not really) hours later it was done and I had no idea where to put it.  My trouble was the last thing I wanted was teeny tiny hands pulling down the tray and the decanter and having a giant whiskey mess.  Then I realized I had a sofa table that belonged to my grandfather that was just the right height.  For years the sofa table has always been in our living room and has always had the same five picture frames and candle on it.  It’s been that way so long it almost felt like I couldn’t change it even though I’ve always wanted to.  So I went shopping in the mess that is our spare room..found some new picture frames and a Hoosier Vase and moved it into the office and now we have a whole new look!

There was whiskey in that decantor before Dave drank it.  I was a little irritated that he drank it before I took the picture.  He knows nothing about staging..punk.

4 Responses to “31 Days of: Making a House a Home:: Day Two”

  1. Stefani October 2, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    It looks great! I love the white and silver.

  2. Alana in Canada October 2, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Hi.
    I can’t seem to find a home page to copy your url from –I don’t know how to keep track of you! Nice tray.

  3. Melanie October 3, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    Love it!!! I’m not crafty at ALL so no shame here with diagonal lines 😉 HA! I think it does look really great.

    I blog at ‘Only a Breath’, and I’d love for you to stop by if you have time! I’m writing about “31 Days to Love Your Neighbor” (and trying to figure it out myself) 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Melanie

  4. Sarah November 1, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    I love how you have a picture of Holden on the bar. My children are the reason I drink too. Cute tray!

Leave a Reply

