High on thrifitng..and spray paint apparently..

9 Feb

I grew up on Hilton Head.  You are probably thinking one of two things right now.  Oh, you’re a snob OR where the crap is that?

I was a snob because I was from Hilton Head and it wasn’t until I was 19 that I learned that “the ghetto” does not consist of double wides with a nice yard and friendly puppies and an ocean view (true..if you lived in a mobile home on Hilton Head you almost always had a water view)…  And god forbid I buy ANY article of clothing at Wal-Mart.  I remember my college roommates had the CUTEST Demin Jacket (it was 2001 people..those were awesome) from Wal-Mart but I absolutely refused to buy it and spent 40 dollars on an identical jacket from J.Crew.  The salt water in the air just does something to people down there.

Fyi, I did not live here even though I acted like I did.

I also never dreamed of setting foot inside of a thrift store before the age of 20 when I was out on my own (i.e. going to college and having my life funded by my parents) and furnishing an apartment did not come cheap.  There was this place on Hilton Head called The Bargain Box.  As teenagers we loudly mocked the people who would line up outside of the Bargain Box an hour before it opened to get the good stuff.  The Bargain Box was only open three days a week for about 4 hours a day.  Now I think about it..rich people’s stuff at Thrift Store prices..that place was probably a flippin’ gold mine.

The first time I went to the Bargain Box I was 21 and a junior in college.  My ex-boyfriend turned enemy turned friend again was a senior in college and getting his own apartment.  When I say enemy I mean enemy.  We continued to have the same friends and he hard core ignored me even if I was in the same room for a good year and a half.  That boy had stamina.  He was a bit eccentric so he wanted to go to the Bargain Box to look for stuff for his new apartment.  I was appalled..however..I was still kind of infatuated with him at the time (did I not mention that?)  so I went..happily.  I remember being AMAZED.  It was stuff..cool vintagey awesome STUFF that was cheap.  He found a lamp that had a map of Delaware on the base…I was obsessed with it.  If I wasn’t obsessed with him I probably would have fought him for it.  Right there in the Bargain Box.  I think about that lamp a lot.  I wonder if he still has it.  I think I actually think more about that lamp than I think about him.  We are facebook friends and sometimes I am tempted to ask him about it.  I never have though because that just seems a little..nuts.

Anyway, Mandy from Harper’s Happenings is sharing some of her recent thriftin’ finds and encouraging others to do that same.  I haven’t been to the Bargain Box in years because I moved away (and gained perspective..although I still have a major hang up about Wal-Mart clothes)…

This elephant I found at Goodwill in Columbia.  I was super pumped because they opened a new Goodwill about 3 miles from my house.  I was so excited I went on opening day and found this elephant.  He was bronze and all tarnished but I spray painted him white.  I am kind of obsessed with him.  I showed him to everyone who entered my house for a few months but no one really cared too much.  I, however, think he is god’s gift to elephantery.  He was 1.00 because..EVERYTHING! was HALF! OFF! for Opening Day!

Our friend Jonas let us store some stuff at his house and in return he asked us to drop some things off at the Salvation Army for him.  I usually don’t do the Salvation Army..but since we were already there………I found these cute little guys!  (There are two..even though there is only one in the picture).  The best part..they were yellow and puke green a’la 1976 thankyouverymuch!  I spray painted them white..again.  I named them Hoots and Boots.  They like their makeover and love being in the 21st century.  Together they were $4.00.  A little pricey in my opinion.  I tried to haggle but the muttery Salvation Army lady wasn’t into it.

 

Pst, that pretty beach picture came from here.

Leave a Reply

